Do you want to follow the clouds with me? Do you live in the now?

Lately I’ve been feeling uninspired, overwhelmed, a monotony of life pressing down on me pending the reality that it will all explode in my face soon. Everything will change. Wondering what we will do next and how will we all deal with it. Feeling like we can’t move soon enough yet WTF will we do when we actually do this thing, moving to Minnesota. This thing I have thought I have wanted so badly for the past 3+ years.

Plus I’ve felt tired…

And so…I haven’t been posting. My brain was just imploding. Waking me up at 4 A.m. to think. Bloody terrible hour(been hanging out with lots of Brits lately, hence the bloody).

But today the clouds were just too gorgeous to ignore. Felt good to want to have my camera in hand again.

Felt good that it rained! Smells good that it rained!

The wind blows in the fresh sea air. Stirs that big wet pot. Salt. Plants. Life.

Feels good that I don’t feel like my skin is going to burn off and can exit the house safely during midday hours. Summers are long and hot here…got it? Lovely for swimming and good if you can live as a creature of the night but small children inhibit night owlism…yes I might have made that word up?

Long story short…fall is fabulous! Although it isn’t my mid-western mindset of fall. No leaves change gorgeous shades of red, yellow and orange. The Apples are just ok but pomegranates…nar are bursting from the trees. When a yellow shade the fruit inside still sour but the Aegean sun is turning them this amazing coral color sweeting those jewel like pink fruits only to soon rupture brilliant, vibrant, sweet red!

I will miss this. I know. Love it now. Live in the now.

Do you live in the now?

Love my family framed in fluff. Fluffy bougainvillea flowers. Fluffy white clouds.

Terribly two. Terribly tired here. Terrible tantrum ensues as she wants to get out and push the stroller herself.

Terribly smart. Terribly stubborn. Terribly sassy. Fights terribly hard for her independence. Terribly normal from what I understand…terrible test of parents patience:)

Compromise? or was it distraction? Let’s do it together…

ALWAYS happy in the sand.

Hero, one of the neighborhood street dogs joins us sometimes too…

Typical Turkish view; colorful cement townhouses with solar water heating panels…and satilite dishes…

Thanks for joining us on the walk around the neighborhood…

I feel better now…how about you?

Fresh air and family. gratitude. calms the brain.

Rain came back in full force.

Listening to Damien Rice and Lisa Hannigan…amazing!

Living in the now these past couple days…

12 thoughts on “Do you want to follow the clouds with me? Do you live in the now?

  1. OMG, Em! How beautiful your photos and how beautifully honest your words…and my-oh-my do you look like your sister Maudie in that close-up shot!! Love getting to “see you and be with you” this way, despite the miles….

    kte

  2. I keep telling myself to live in the moment, enjoy here while we are still here and stop worrying. but its so very hard. we will be going the opposite way across the ocean to Turkey from the Midwest.. *sigh* if only it wasn’t so far and so expensive!

    • Terri, It is far and it is expensive. It will be hard for you I am not going to lie. My best advice is to learn Turkish so you can keep your independence and enjoy the differences between the worlds instead of comparing and longing for the latter. Best of luck to you and your family!

      • Also i am so happy that I have learned turkish, know my in-laws well and have experienced my husbands culture. In hindsight I feel very grateful for this!

  3. Hell yeah I am living in the NOW!! Climbing Mt St. helens next weekend… woohoo! You look beautiful and turkey looks breath-taking. You better be enjoying this while you have it. The grass is always greener on the other side lovely. Hindsight is a bitch sometimes… live it up!!! I love you so much!

    p.s. teribble twos certainly do suck! I am with you on that one… right with you. Especially when you are trying to keep a schedule.

  4. I read your last two October entries. The pictures are wonderful. Thank you for posting the pictures of the sea. It makes me miss Akbuk.

Leave a Reply

